Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Residing in a society, obeying laws is the fundamental duty of an individual as a part of that society, provided the laws to be justifiable. Every individual has fundamental duties to perform and fundamental rights that he/she can exercise. Obeying justifiable law is a fundamental duty whereas it is in the fundamental rights of an individual to question the validity of an unjust law and can repudiate to obey. Case of women activists in UAE resisting against the very rule of wearing a hijab exemplifies the position of the forced application of an unjust law upon Arabian women. Example of unjust laws being forced upon the people irrespective of the fact that what is the achievable purpose of the law.

Some people argue that every law is made for the welfare of society, but that isn't correct. People often use power unjustly and make things to favour that same power.

Looking at our everyday lives, there are many rules to notice which are being questioned about their justification. In a society, there are principles which people follow and expect others to do the same. Rules like not to conduct any noisy activity after late night, or not to bring pets in an apartment where the elderly are also living, make sense as there are valid reasons behind them. late-night parties may cause disruption and disturb neighbours, and sometimes old people are allergic to pets. But at the same time, there are rules like no bachelors are allowed, or we see this in the society parks that children are not allowed to play outdoor games because it will make the grass uprooted, these rules are absurd and exemplify the case when people with power forcing the laws just to make things go "their" way - this is not how a society works, there is no "their" or "me" or "I", there is only "us" and "we". Like Abraham Lincoln once said, government of the people, government by the people, and government for the people. And, isn't society is a form of democratic body? I say yes.