Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author claims that each individual in a society is responsible for obeying just law and disobeying and resisting unjust ones. However, I personally do not agree with this statement.

It is clear that author agrees to the opinion that there should be no exception that every single person is obligated to follow what the fair laws claim and not follow those laws that are believed to be unfair. It is true that when laws are constituted, there could be some misunderstanding and overlooking leading to the result that some laws could seem unreasonable or even unfair. Disagreeing with these laws by taking actions of disobeying and resistance could improve the law system by promoting the law makers scrutinize the current laws revise and complete those laws that may have flaws under certain conditions. However, to my personal view, even if there are circumstances that some law could be regarded as unfair, it is not a wise suggestion that citizens should disobey those laws.

It must be stated that a standard is required for the successful development of any society, and that is why laws are created and it must be obeyed strictly by every single individual. People should be aware that it is a very complex and thorough progress to establish a law. The progress has to go through a great many of procedure starting from proposing, through many levels of investigations and examination, finally to the establishment. In addition, all these steps are carries out under a team of people with the most professional knowledge and completed experience. Even though it cannot be guaranteed that all established laws are perfect that is reasonable and fair under all cases and conditions, it is still of tremendous help to have such a thorough and established system to standard human’s behaviors.

When the author makes the above statement, I strongly question that what are the standards to determine if a law is just or unjust. And the answer is clearly that there are no standards on this. And simply suggest individuals to not to follow the laws that they regarded as unjust could easily cause a huge turbulence in the society. Furthermore, it is a hard problem to tell if a law is fair not only for individuals but also for countries. That is why there are still many conflicts existing among different countries' laws. For instance, death sentence is executed in some countries while are forbidden in others. This type of discrepancy is created due to a combination of various factors such as culture, religion, its country's own consideration, etc. Therefore, in countries that has death sentence, transgressors that disobey certain laws must be punished by death sentence and there should be no exceptions since the exception will definitely trigger the dissatisfaction and angers among public. Likely, criminals cannot be executed with death sentence in those countries that forbid this laws no matter how severe the criminal is.

It can be concluded from the following discussions that encouraging individuals to obey only the laws that they believe are fair and disobey the ones they regard as unfair is not helpful to promote the society's happy and stability, and it can even cause the turbulence that impede the society's development and individual's life. Therefore, it should be reached to concord that the established laws must be followed since it is under the work of a group of people after deep studying and consideration.