The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Self-knowledge is one step towards the walk of eternity.Self-knowledge is understanding one's morality and flaws in his own character.To understand flaws in his own character is very difficult with having pride. Thus I completely agree with the author that the first step to knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Firstly to gain self-knowledge one have to give up their pride. Leaving back their ego is something which next to impossible for most of the people.It is important for the person to give up the feeling that he is something because without that he won't be able to accept the flaws which persists in his soul. Let's take a hypothetical situation if a well-educated person wants to gain self-knowledge.He starts learning about the flaws in his soul. He reads that he should not be egoistic.Then his mind will not make his accept that he is egoistic saying he is just having a self-respect. Thus he won't be able to give up his ego

So to attain self-knowlege that person should do meditation to concentrate on the path is going to follow.Self-knowledge can never be attain by person who is surrounded by people who don't have self-knowledge because that people will know make him do follow that path.So that person need to first stop listening to his dear ones and blindly follow the path.

Thus, I believe that to attain self-knowledge the first step is to reject what is familiar.He need to give his knowledge which he gain from the outside world and most importantly his pride which is major obstacle to attain self-knowledge.