The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Self realization comes with deep knowledge of one's self.The deep knowledge comes from learning different things in different environment.If one wants to learn something he should get out of his comfort zone.More intense self-knowledge is the bigger rejection familiar environment has to face.Therefore, I totally agree with the speaker's assertion that the first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

The familiarity of things,thoughts, beliefs makes us more comfortable and prohibiting people to discover new aspects within themselves.One cannot grow and succeed unless he tries to get out from his comfort level and fight against the "obvious" elements of his surroundings.There is basic difference between successful people and ordinary people.People who reject the familiar customs and traditions of the world, in order to find something more valuable, are always the people who bring change in our society.For instance, Mother Teresa, who decided to devote her entire life for children and poor people, became nun at age of 18.During that time , it was not common thing for a girl to become a nun at such a young age.But she decided and brought a huge change in mentality of our society.

It is not only about change in society but also development of oneself.A person should be adaptive enough to sustain in all kinds of environment.Suppose a person, living in New York , has a very busy and happening life .Due to recession, he has to shift to a backward area in Texas.It will be very hard for him to adjust to the life in this area in initial period of time.But later, he will realize that because of this change he would have got the knowledge of different culture and people.Hence, the person

However, it is also true that people also learn from the environment which is familiar to them but the area of learning is very limited.Therefore, in order to learn more one has to contradict the familiar beliefs and thoughts.