In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Students should be given the knowledge of different areas such as poetry ,novels, and mythology. But, for college students it is high time to focus on the subject they like to pursue. Therefore, I disagree with the statement that in order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

The college students are in their prime time to gain the knowledge about the subject which interest them the most. By the age, they have already decided the profession they would like to pursue, therefore, thats why they have chosen the specific college and courses.Therefore, there is no point in distracting them from their chosen path. For example, a student alredy developed his interest in computer engineering in his high school, and due to this his has joined computer engineering program in a state college. Now, if the college tries to mandate the subjects like mythology, poetry and philosophy then the student ends up in confusion.This is because these subjects are no use in computer engineering and a lot of precious time of the student would be wasted in studying them. Moreover, he might not able to excel in his field due to the distraction created by the college curriculum. Therefore, the college students should not bound to take subjects out of their chosen field of interest.

Furthermore, the college students are paying huge amount and time to be a capable people who can live a good life. The focus on their chosen subject will help them to earn good money. Moreover, to become all rounder , one can pursue their hobbies side by side and they can devote their time according to their wish. Not every student would like to pursue his hobby along with their major course.

However, if students wish to take a couple of courses out of their field of study , they could be allowed because sometimes people wish to pursue them as their hobby. For example, sometimes a doctor might like to relax himself by reading fiction novels which is not at all related by his profession but helps him to feel relaxed and sound minded. However, this only applies if students “wish” to take such subjects; colleges should not put such subjects as a part of mandatory coursework.

In conclusion, it is good to be all rounded student but at certain level of age one has to be more concentrated in his field of interest. Therefore, I again disagree with the statement that in order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.