A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

According to the movie producer funding for the movie should be increased to ten percent in order to ensure it's quality. However, his conclusion based on vague figures , lack of evidence and illogical assumptions.Though he has given some evidences to prove his argument but close scrutiny of the evidences reveals little credible support to the producer's assertion.

First of all, he assumed that the first-time director cannot direct the movie effectively. His assumption was based on the director's no experience in directing movies.However, the producer should mind that fact that he has experience in shooting commercials for a shampoo company.

Moreover, the producer has assumed that because of his experience in commercials he will end up in taking more time to shoot a scene. This assumption is a stretch because it is highly possible that in commercials are much shorter in length and they afford to take much more retakes than a movie. Their primary goal is to make advertisement catchy in order to sell the product whereas movie serves completely different purpose and produce might understand the different nature of both of them.

Furthermore,the producer has come up with vague reasoning for the suggestion of increasing funds. His analogy for salary to extra hour expenditure is illogical because even if there would be increase in expenditure during extra hours but that could not be more than the salary of experienced directors and assistant producers since he hired inexperienced staff.

However, the producer could have saved money by hiring rest of of the staff with good experience. He would have check and stop the wastage and should come up with managing budgets. Also, he should have given the proper explanation for the figure "ten percent". How he has conclude this percentage? Moreover, it might be possible that even after increasing funds situation remains same.

In conclusion, though the concern of the producer seems to be valid but the his evidence for his argument remains illogical and vague ;thereby need more analysis.