A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

The movie producer in the given excerpt is basically criticizing the staff involved in the production of the movie Working Title as he wants to have the funding increased. The director of the movie happens to be directing the movie for the very first time. Whereas , the producer here has no grounds to increase the funding of the movie as there are no strong reasons on why they need extra funding . All his points are based on assumptions and no valid reason .

Firstly , he is criticizing the director of the movie just because he is a first timer and he only worked for advertising business.

There would have been a time where other directors would have also thought the same about the producer when it was his first time , so its quite undermining in the way he is talking about the director of the movie. In addition to the director the producer also criticized the advertising business and says that it is wasteful . On what basis is he saying this about the business, this shows how egoistic the producer as he differs between the movie and advertizing business in a very condescending manner.

Secondly , he believes that because the director was in the advertising business it will take a lot of time to shoot for the movies as there could be many takes . This is very demeaning to some working really hard for a particular profession.On top of it he has the audacity to say that money will be saved by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors.

Was he never inexperienced? Was he always perfect in whatever he did? Did he always earn more from the time he started?

This unbelievable for a person in the same industry to feel this way .

Thirdly , he is asking extra funding on a reason solely assuming that the inexperienced assistant directors and producers will not be able to arrange things on time which will lead to actors and unionized crew to spend overtime on sets. How is he so certain that things of this sort are going to happen ? This is not right for the producer to be so critical with the staff instead of being a support to the inexperienced crew . He should definetly help out the emerging directors and producers instead of demeaning them .

Producer should make the movie a success without criticing the fact that the staff is poor . He should have more strong points to ask for increasing the funds than be presumptuous about his staff .