The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

According to the given excerpt it is a letter sent to the editor of a scientific journal by a person who studies eighteen rhesus monkeys. He provide clues to the effects of birth order on individuals levels of stimulation in rhesus monkeys. The letter here mentions that firstborn infant monkeys produce twice as much of the hormone costrisol. Well he is mentioning the following in regard to some study, but he has not mentioned the person or the journal from where he asserts such statements. There can be analysis done inorder to prove the cortisol level and not just rely on one study. He does not have enough factual figures to prove his point and is more based on a study whose validity is not known.

Firstly, the study according to the writer says that in stimulating situations when a monkey has encounter with an unfamiliar monkey can result in the firstborn in infant to provudes twice the hormone cortisol. Although, it could be true but he should presents more supporting points for his assertion. It could be due to any reason due to which the cortisol level is produced due to. It can be due to the gender of the monkey or some other reason, the editor should review a bit more before making such an assertion.

Secondly, in the topic relating to rhesus monkeys the editor suddenly brings out the topic of firstborn humans which quite untimely and definitely not relating to whatever said in the letter. It is quite guile when he mentions about firstborn humans which creates a very complex relation the argument and the supporting statements for the argument.Although ,in the letter it is showing the nature of first born humans in similarity to that of rhesus monkeys. The letter should be comprised of more facts and figures when relating it to humans.

Thirdly , it is mentioned in the letter that a pregnant first time monkey will have high cortisol level than that of who have had an offspring. The writer of the letter is gramatically wrong in the last line where it is mentioned "had had" instead of "have had". The writer of the letter needs to work on his quality of grammar. Considering the pregnancy of first time mother, the letter should be more convincing to the editor of the scientific journal and actually have real life examples before asserting such a statement.

Concluding , the given letter has to be more convincing to be published on a scientific journal. It should have more strong points in support of the assertion.He should include more facts and figure inorder to support his cause The writer of the letter is also moving quite wayward in the flow and should work on that. Lastly the writer of the letter should work on grammar.