The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

One of the business manager of a television station has claimed that in the last year the late night news channel is more devoted to national news than weather and local news . Due to this they are receiving complaints from the viewers of the news channel from his concerned area . He has also mentioned that the advertising contracts have been canceled during the late night news program .This memorandum lacks factual analysis and based on a selfish agenda to get the advertising contracts back .

Firstly , he is mentioning over the past year , he has not specified any particular time when the viewers received complaint. He has to provide accurate information in order to find the solution to the problem . If he doesnt provide accurate information then the concerned department will not about the time from which the complaints have been received .

Secondly , He mentions viewers complained to his station regarding the local news and weather . He did not mention number of viewers , it doesn't provide the exact number of viewers complaining to the station . It is quite vague as viewers can be any number , for the late night news program they should know how many exact viewers are wanting the change in the format of the show . The business manager should provide the number of viewers that complained .

Thirdly , he is saying due to lack of viewers , the local businesses that used to advertise during the late night programs have cancelled their contracts . He is not providing the news channel with proper information regarding the advertisers , he has not mentioned the name of any particular advertise when he is stating such a bold statement .

Concluding that the television manager should review his memorandum and states significant facts than mentioning non analysed facts .