In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic raises the controversial issue where the author asserts that it is impossible to make a significant contribution without being strongly influenced by past achievements. Indisputably, the most important thing is contributing rather than being influenced by past achievements. Being strongly influenced by past achievements might make a person over confident and take things lightly. Nevertheless, it is not necessary for a person to have past achievements to contribute significantly in the field of endeavor.

First of all, let us consider a fresher who just enters the field of endeavor does not have any experience in the particular field, has no past achievements in the field. It doesn’t mean that the fresher cannot excel in the particular field. Everybody starts from scratch, be it the person who achieves fabulously in his field of endeavor or anyone who wants to make contributions later on. It depends on person to person on the way they achieve, some are quick enough to contribute and a few might be late bloomers who end up achieving but a bit late.

Considering a sportsman, generally careers in sports start at a relatively younger age. The debutants who play the sport at a certain level do not have past achievements to bank on , still a few end up making humongous contributions . Even though they do not have experience they end up excelling in the particular sport. Although ,a sportsman who has not had any significant achievements in the past can end up getting brilliant results. It happens due to the kind of attitude of the person , frame of mind ,etc.

Attitude is the key to achieve anything in any particular field. Everything depends upon the way a person thinks. Having the determination to make contributions are irrelevant of the fact where achievements count. Achievements are important but one should not have the achievements over his head and be over confident that he could make contributions without any grit, it is very relative and depends on person to person.

Concluding , although past achievements matter a lot to make significant contributions in the field of endeavor, but it is not a necessity. A person has his own way of doing things and it will be done accordingly.