The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

There is no limit to desire in today's world. The people are greedy and always look for more than what they have, no matter how it is going to affect others. This greedy nature has lead to large scale consequences. Therefore the desire of the corporations to maximize profits creates conflicts with the general welfare of a nation .

Firstly , when a company or corporations is looking to maximize profits they look to hire people who are capable to work for them . Since the employees are directly linked to profits the companies end up firing many of them . As in today's world there are a lot of people who have exquisite talent but they are without a job . So companies look forward to hire freshers and in turn removing the older ones as the salary of a fresher would be very less than that of the employees currently working .

Due to this the company ends up with profit as they spend less on the freshers but it leads to large scale recession which leads to unemployment and disrupting the welfare of the nation . Due to the unemployment , it has direct effects on the nation's economy and GDP.

In an IT sector based company the company ends up hiring many freshers who have just graduated . This poses a threat on the jobs of the employees working currently as they definitely have a better payscale than that of a fresher but skills are just similar to them . Due to which the company sees this a possibility to earn profits by hiring the freshers and firing the older employees .

The corporations have the tendency to earn great profits . This desire generally leads to "do anything to get it" kind of attitude among the people . Due to this attitude many times the companies tend to commit fraud in order to earn excessive profits . Committing fraud is definitely harmful in regards to the welfare of the nation and hence it creates conflicts .

Concluding , that desire of corporations to maximize profits leads to create conflict with the general welfare of the people.