The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Some people belive that self realisation comes with deep knowledge that one posesses . However , self knowledge comes with learning different things in different environments . If one wants to learn something he should get out of his comfort zone.More intense self-knowledge is the bigger rejection familiar environment has to face.Therefore, I totally agree with the speaker's assertion that the first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

First , it is the tendency of humans or it is inhibited in their blood that people agree with what has been taught or they agree with assertions that has been going on since ages . However unless and until we question these assertions there is no way of proving that they are correct . For example , the geocentric theory that was disproved by Galelio needed him to question the assertions made . Only after rejection the familiar he was able to come up with heliocentric theory which stated that sun is the center of the universe . Had he not rejected the ongoing theory we would still be learning that every planet revolves around the earth .

Second , rejecting things that are stated can help us expand our knowledge base . Perhaps , rejecting the things that are taught can teach us if we are wrong . For example , teachers in schools and colleges encourage students to question what they donot understand or if they find things hard to believe . After students questioning these facts , teachers can give examples or answer their questions in depth that would enhance a students knowledge . Also this can help students to think in a way that they didnt think beforehand thus helping the students to develop .

The familiarity of things,thoughts, beliefs makes us more comfortable and prohibiting people to discover new aspects within themselves.One cannot grow and succeed unless he tries to get out from his comfort level and fight against the "obvious" elements of his surroundings.There is basic difference between successful people and ordinary people.People who reject the familiar customs and traditions of the world, in order to find something more valuable, are always the people who bring change in our society.For instance, Mother Teresa, who decided to devote her entire life for children and poor people, became nun at age of 18.During that time , it was not common thing for a girl to become a nun at such a young age.But she decided and brought a huge change in mentality of our society.

However, it is also true that people also learn from the environment which is familiar to them but the area of learning is very limited.Therefore, in order to learn more one has to contradict the familiar beliefs and thoughts.