A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Some people believe that a nation should not require its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Whereas, taking the same national curriculum possesses its own benefits over not having one. Thus, I personally feel that a nation should require its students to study the same national curriculum. However there might be some cases where a unified curriculum could prove to be waste.

First, the same national curriculum could serve as the base of assessing the skills of all the different students. For example, colleges could use academic performances of the students to assess them or distinguish them from each other. Using this distinguishing factor they can give admissions to deserving students. Thus, same national curriculum could be advantageous in this situation.

Second, a national curriculum is often well crafted. The ones creating the curriculum keep in mind that different students may develop different tastes. With regards to this Education committee in India developed a curriculum that includes subjects such as English, Math, Science, History etc which grows in difficulty / depth as the grade increases. In the processes of learning all these subjects students often figure out the field they are interested in. Thus, a common curriculum can help one find their specific field of interest.

However, one might argue that a national curriculum should focus only on the field of interest of the student. For example many parents in India want their son/daughter to crack their IIT / JEE exam that you need to take after your twelfth grade. So they argue that subjects of this exam should be taught since 5th standard in the schools. Ignoring the fact that their child's interest. Even if one has found the interest of studying for IIT that early, enforcing this curriculum on every other student is wrong since they may have different aspirations.

While there are a lot of reasons to say that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college, there are also reasons for not doing so. Therefore a curriculum should be well drafted keeping everyone's interest in mind.