A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Some people believe that a nation should not require its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college . Whereas , taking the same national curriculum possesses its own benefits over not having one . Thus , I personally feel that a nation should require its students to study the same national curriculum . However there might be some cases where a unified curriculum could prove to be waste .

First , the same national curriculum could serve as the base of assessing the skills of all the different students . For example , colleges could use academic performances of the students to assess them or distinguish them from each other . Using this distinguishing factor they can give admissions to deserving students . Thus , same national curriculum could be advantageous in this situation .

Second , a national curriculum is often well crafted . The ones creating the curriculum keep in mind that different students may develop different tastes . With regards to this Education committee in India developed a curriculum that includes subjects such as English , Maths , Science , History etc which grows in difficulty / depth as the grade increases . In the processes of learning all these subjects students often figure out the field they are interested in . Thus , a common curriculum can help one find their specific field of interest .

However , one might argue that a national curriculum should focus only on the field of interest of the student . For example many parents in India want their son/daughter to crack their IIT / JEE exam that you need to take after your twelfth grade . So they argue that subjects of this exam should be taught since 5th standard in the schools . Ignoring the fact that their child's interest . Even if one has found the interest of studying for IIT that early , enforcing this curriculum on every other student is wrong since they may have different aspirations .

While there are a lot of reasons to say that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college , there are also reasons for not doing so . Therefore a curriculum should be well drafted keeping everyones interest in mind .