The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

The topic raises a controversial issue of whether self-knowledge development happens outside of the boundaries of the person's familiar circle. In arguably, knowledge is to seek for the unknown, and in order to improve your knowledge, you have to eventually go beyond your familiarity. However, everyone's learning starts with knowing from their surroundings. Importance of everyone's root is beyond the question of judgement. Thus, I generally agree that everyone has to step out of their familiarity to gain knowledge, but also shouldn't underestimate their root, where they have come from.

To begin with, everyone in this world first gets to learn from their surroundings, and eventually, they all left their neighbourhood in search of the unknown. To illustrate this, every child starts their learning from their immediate parents, then their family members. And once they reach the right age, they were sent to school for learning from teachers and their classmates. Everyone has to leave their familiarity in order to quench their quest for knowledge.

Furthermore, if someone only thinks from the perspective that they won't be leaving or they won't be rejecting what they already know in order to learn and respect something new, they are missing out on something beautiful. As an example, before the time of Copernicus, the society wants to believe that Earth is the centre of the universe and everything goes around of it. When Copernicus showed them the truth, he was banished from the society. Every time, the truth is the hard one to get accepted widely. But, if the knowledge has its own ground to be valid, then it will get accepted, however unfamiliar it may be from the knowledge that currently possessed by the society.

Admittedly, one can't learn something new if they are not completing what they can know from their surroundings. If a child is sent to school too soon, then he/ she will have a tough time to catch up with the rest of the students. First things first, to obtain whatever the person could from their familiar territory of knowledge, then go beyond to learn something unique and beautiful.

To sum it up, one can't ignore the knowledge they have in their hand before delving into the world of unknown. However, if the person wants to break the barrier of currently known knowledge, they have to go for unknown. Ultimately, knowledge is the power upon which the whole advancement of mankind depends on.