The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

I believe that a person who knows himself tends to be ahead in the human evolution race, We get to see new side of ourselves only when we are not in familiar situations.

Getting to know yourself is a long and tedious process. From being a child to full-grown adults, we have continuously been exposed to different things in our lifetime. Like going to school, giving exams, doing sports etc. For each of these things, we were not familiar with them at first. Only after trying these, would we realise if we like it or not. Any person only by trying out different things then realises what his passions are. They then go ahead and build their career with it. Knowing about what you like or not could not have come has the child not tried various things. And thus after this revelling discovery they can live a happy and content life.

Knowing about yourself not only helps in building a successful career but also help in choosing partners and building a long-term relationship. Knowing what you like or not like in a partner not only comes with self realisation of what you like but also being with different types of people in your lifetime help shape that opinion wildly. Bringing yourself to meet unfamiliar people, not only makes a person realise what they like but also what they despise and would want to change in a relationship.

Pushing your boundaries does tell you something about yourself. For example you have a fear of stage. But you love giving presentations. If you had not pushed yourself and put yourself in an unfamiliar position of giving presentations in small groups you would have never realised that about yourself. I am one of those people. I have agoraphobia but giving presentations is one of my passions which I discovered when one of my teachers asked me to give it a try. I gave it to a small group in the beginning and to my surprise I loved it. Till date I am still scared of being in big crowds but giving presentations just gives me an adrenaline rush and I would never have known this about myself had I not pushed myself despite my fear of crowds.

But that does not mean that you should keep on denying yourself any familiarity you have around. Once you know what your passions are what you like it is definitely good to keep them up. Human craves for constant in their life. That is very basic nature. Every human tends to settle in their life at some point or other. But what i would say is when you reach that point you should have known yourself completed and are happy in all senses.

So in the conclusion I would just say that having a familiar environment is good for a long run, but to know about your true self it is rather important to push your boundaries and try different things once a while. Who knows you might find a new passion knowingly unknowingly.