The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A leader has to work with a lot of people. Not only he has to work for them but also maintain harmony between all of them and make sure the team works smoothly. Thus instilling a sense of cooperation at young age would not only help the work in working together in a team but also to lead a team together forward.

For instance take a tech lead in a technical team of some IT industry. Now if the tech lead is competitive with his peers, he would always want to move ahead of his team members. Doing so there will be no bonding in the team and each member will be working alone. Not only would this bring chaos but also will bring in other factors like blaming each other, inequality and no ownership. And working in such a team would not bring the moral up of the members and thus would ultimately impact the performance of the team. On the other hand if the tech lead has mastered the skills of cooperation and is able to make the team work with each other, not only will this set a good example for the team members but also inculcate a sense of happiness thus ultimately bringing up the moral of the team. They individually one plus one makes two but eleven if they work together.

That does not mean a leader should not be competitive. Yes of course they should indeed be competitive but as a team. Consider a CEO of a big company. If he is not competitive with other companies in the same field, his company would never move forward in terms of innovation. Being competitive brings in the urge to strive yourself towards betterness. And if the CEO has that competitive zeal within him, he will always strive to make his company the best by staying on top of products that they provide. A good example of this is twitter. Twitter recently revamped their whole website. They realised that their developers were not able to add a simple edit button, while Facebook is off onto working on artificial intelligence on faces. This competitive nature forced them to take a decision which involved billions of dollars but ultimately will enable them to stay abreast with other companies. Now with the totally new tech stack they can freely do new things they can and who knows provide a whole new experience to their customers. And of course this would not have been possible without the cooperation of people within twitter.

So yes, in conclusion it is important to be competitive but when it comes to working together or being a representative (leader) of a team working together cooperation plays a very important role in maintaing the harmony and creating successful teams.