The first step to self-knowledge is the rejection of the familiar

Knowledge is the most virtuious boon given to mankind. It is this ability to comprehend knowledge makes humans better and smarter than any other animal who walked on the surface of the Earth. Knowledge can defined as the experience that is gained from learning, it can be constructive or destructive based on the person defining it.The prompt states that the rudimentary step to self-knowledge is rejection of the things we already know. I agree to some extent with the direction of the prompt for that I am presenting two examples which strenghtens my take over this issue.

Let us conider an real life example of the great inventor who has literally shaped our world in the fields of telecommunications, power systems. During his early days Nikola tesla was working under then very respected engineer turned businessman Thomas Edison. In that period Tesla was already brilliant student with various active participation in research sector. One of the project he was working on was the DC power supply of Edison. DC system was brain child of Edison.Inspite of being so widely used and lot of bankers had already invested millions of dollars in this project. Tesla whose main job was to make DC more reliable opposed that very notion. He believed DC power to be fundamentally worseing to humankind and need to be replaced with even better system. This rejection of idea of DC at that time gave rise to what we currently know as the "The Current War". Entire AC power system--Tesla's solution to DC-- we know to today came into existence because Tesla rejected very idea of DC being superior by studyig it day and night. In other words When we know what we know exactly only then can we strive to move forward in right direction.Had tesla used DC to ease his research we would not have AC,radios etc.

Although there are some instances where this attitude might not be that helpful, as defined earlier knowledge is experience,it is foolish move to ignore the effects of previous experience.There might be some tools which have been shaped so accurately by previous generation that they form the dogma of science,One such example is Theory of Gravitation put forth by Newton. Newton in his book explained how Nature works and Why should it behave the way we observe it right now.This theory was accecpted worldwide by many scientist as it scientifically proved by conductiong various experiments.Years after this theory another great Physicist named Alber Einstein researched the same Gravitation theory put forth by Newton but this research was different he assumed the theory to be true and the followed the hypothetical experiments to prove it wrong,and thus was"Theory of Relativity" Born. Einstein's work on Gravitation explains us all that not all past experience might be wrong they might be limited in their scope so to answer is must use it as accleartion boost because it alreay been proven.

In conclusion rejection of the familiar should not be the first step to self-knowledge although it doesn't mean that is shouldn't br be the step to take. It depends upon how an individual looks at his problem,Does he realises how accurate the past familiar knowledge is? or is he an advocate of completely new outlook on the solution without using any past experiences of personality?