Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Do people with excellent leadership qualities are born with it or do they imbibe within themselves? Most certainly the answer to this question seems straight forward, Leaders are not born but moulded in this world. With that idealogy in mind I moderately disagree with the author of the prompt claming that for leadership in particular fields we need to embedded a sense of co-operation and not competition.

Co-operation and Competition are not exactly two polar ideas. They are both needed for the faster advancement of human kind in this society and one cannot certainly seperate them away. Without Competition there is no motivation for growth and without co-operation there is lesser scope for learning various prespectives of mistakes. To illustrate my views Let us take an example of high school cirriculum of Japan. Until students graduate their highschool they are mandatory to take subjects like, Project Building, team management and individual project. For a student who likes Algebra the most, what does these subject offer to him?. On deep analysis by psycologist understood that these mere mandatory subject offer students to recogonize and develop their co-operation skills by working in a team and building individual projects thus giving them a sense of competition. This methodology of high school education has helped japan to give birth to generation of students which have a potential leadership qualities. Inspiried by their success rate California State Goverment has made similar programs mandatory in their schools as well.

However, it can be easily stated that excessive competition can actually hinder the mere leadership qualities budding process. Competition is a daily meal of the day but when it crosses the boundaries it invites many negative qualities with it like being envy of someone or showing unnecessary egoist attitude. These qualities divert an individual from reaching it's goal that is imbibing leadership qualities. Nobody wants their leader to be egoist, envious. To give an example consider the situtaion of Hitler who put our world in front of death himself. He would have been an excellent leader if he hadn't showed the signs of being superior to any other race or being envious of the wealth and fame of his rivals. With that qualities in a leader we all know where the community lead by him will eventually go.

In conclusion, The best way for a society to prepare for its young people for leadership in various fields is by instilling them a sense of not only of co-opeartion but also of competition, provided the care should be taken that none of these qualities are absorbed in excess and both should reside in perfect balance just like chinese symbol of Yin-Yang