The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Self belief is the first thing to gain something new in life. Self knowledge makes a person stronger and wiser. He gains the ability to face the situation. So we are able to take up the risk of our own without thinking of familiar beliefs. So I agree to the point that the first step to self knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Self knowledge can be estoric to many as we people are sometime so conserved that we afraid to face new challeges in life because of our known beleifs. When a person thinks out of his boxx, that makes him more practical and firm beleiver to do anything good in life without any fear. If someone makes his mind to leave all the familiar things back then there is no going back. We just need to step out for the sake of our development.

For example, Mother Teresa had a made a self decision to help poor people and to educate the people. She made her strong belief to work for the welfare of people without thinking of what people will think. At the early age of her life she thought of becoming nun. Now a days people fear of taking such drastic decision in life. When person makes him believe in things then he can achieve many good things for himself. He can learn practicality in life.

Also there are many familiar beliefs too, which makes a person think of doing great things in life. I t all depends on what moral values we learn from our surrounding. What kind of self knowledge we gain it all depends on our thinking. So in conclusion, the first step to self knowledge is rejection of familiar beliefs it all depends on what beleifs we consider.