The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

The assertion that the first step to self knowledge is the rejection of the familiar may not hold water in general. In fact, familiar knowledge may lead to self knowledge for different reasons. Moreover, rejection of the familiar may not be the first step in order to gain self knowledge.

Firstly, familiar knowledge is the basic approach to develop the thinking ability that is required to gain self knowledge. Without familiar knowledge, it is very unlikely that one would grow as an individual to gain self knowledge. For instance, a child is required to go to school for the purpose of gaining the basic familiar knowledge. Eventually that child grows his skills in the school while facing the real life situations. if he does not meet friends of his age, he would not learn about human and communication. if he does not meet the teachers, he would not find a mentor to guide him in his journey. if he rejected the familiar thing that is school in the first place, he would not have gained so much knowledge to ultimately find his self knowledge.

Secondly, gaining self knowledge is a step by step process that happens after the continuation of several stages. rejection of familiar may happen after several stages are completed but not at the first place. For example, it was believed that the sun revolves around the earth for a long time. Scholars first accepted the idea that there is a rotational relation between the earth and the sun. Then they modified the rotator and center of the same idea as the earth is the one who rotates around the sun. if they had rejected the idea of rotation at he first place, they would have never found the actual rotational scenario.

Finally, knowledge is a versatile term and its different fields are interconnected. one cannot simply reject a form and hold the other. For reference,if a student wants to learn about astrology or psychology, he or she does not have to be necessarily admitted to an institution of that particular subject. In the era of internet, he can certainly enroll himself in an online based course of the same topic. but, for that, he must know the basics of internet which is a familiar knowledge.

In conclusion, it could be thought that rejecting the familiar is a better approach to find the self knowledge as it creates a clear path to the destination, it is not a good approach in case of gaining knowledge. The approach to gain knowledge must not be provincial and must be open while reaching whatever the goal.