The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Self-knowledge is of crucial importance in the personal as well as world's development. The prompt suggests that the avoidance of commonplace things or ideas lead to the self-knowledge. The statement is a debatable one. So, in my opinion, I partly agree and partly disagree to with the author because of the following reasons.

To begin, Gautam Buddha's statements are followed by Buddhism and he is revered for his profound knowledge about the life. He was the prince of present day Lumbini, Nepal; had he wanted to live happy and pleasurable life, he wouldn't have been considered as the God. Rather, he choose to leave his kingdom and his family in order to have knowledge about his various curiosities. He meditated for long time under the Banayan tree and finally got enlightened by the knowledge. What we can get from his life story is: we cannot always get self-knowledge from the familiar things; but from the things that are far from the reach of any person- by spiritual means which requries alot of self denial and self discipline.

However, self-enlightment always don't need the rejection of the familiar. For instance, Issac Newton, one of the greatest scientist the world has ever known dwelled in the commanplace matters and discovered gravity. While he was sitting under the apple tree, an apple dropped in his head; inspite of eating it, he pondered the reason behind the phenomena. He studied the physics, and finally discovered gravity. He gained the knowledge not by rejecting the facts around him but by embracing them and cogitating around them.

Similarly, like Newton, we can take the example of the Albert Einstein. He has provided us various information that still intrigues the present day scientists. His theories are mostly related to the acceptance of the familiar objects, while some requires the lot of imagination rejecting the familiar matters.

In sum, self-knowledge can be obtained by various means and there is no way we can take a side as stated in the prompt above. Because of the aforementioned reasons, I am partly consonant with the author.