"The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The speaker asserts that the knowledge gained by oneself originates from the rejection of predefined notions and norms and I completely agree with author's point of view. The statement can be bolstered by few examples which i will present in order to validate the issue.

Self-realization comes with deep knowledge of one's self. One acquires knowledge from different sources and learns new things being in different environments. To gain knowledge about something or deeply study a phenomenon, one has to come out of one's comfort zone. More intense self-knowledge is the bigger rejection familiar environment has to face. Therefore, I totally agree with the speaker's assertion that the first step to self-knowledge is the rejection of the familiar.

The familiarity of things, thoughts, and ideas make us comfortable and we feel more complacent, thus limiting ourselves from discovering new perspectives within ourselves and around us. One cannot grow and succeed unless he tries to get out of his comfort level and fight against the "obvious" elements of his surroundings. To bring about a change, should be the motto of one's life. People who reject the familiar customs and traditions of the world, in order to find something more valuable, are always the people who bring change in our society. Consider the example of Mother Teresa, who worked magnanimously for the betterment of poor and needy children. She did not even think of once, before devoting her life to helping these people to overcome poverty. At the age of 18, it was uncommon for a girl to become a nun at such a young age. If she would have never taken these audacious steps, to selflessly help the poor would be able to inspire the youth at that time to change one's mentality?

It is not only about a change in society but also the development of oneself. A person should be adaptive enough to sustain in all kinds of environments. For instance, a person living in New York has a very busy and happening life is suddenly asked to move to a backward area due to recession. It will be very hard for him to adjust to life in this area initially. But later, he will realize that because of this change he would have got the knowledge of different cultures and people. Similarly, one has to always look for different ways to gain knowledge.

However, it is also true that people also learn from the environment which is familiar to them but the area of learning is very limited. It is the aberration from the normal order which tends to open the path for self-knowledge and ultimately the success, but in order to be so, we need to have the courage and will to reject the notions. Therefore, in order to learn more one has to contradict the familiar beliefs and thoughts. So, rejection of the familiar is rightly the only path to self-knowledge!