These days, if you pick up a newspaper or turn on the TV or radio, you may hear or

read about the advantages of driverless cars, also called self-driving or autonomous

cars. The technology is simple to understand: using sensors and computers, these

cars can drive without input from a human. This might sound like science fiction, but

such vehicles are already on our roads and they will have a positive impact on our

driving experience.

Traffic accidents are a leading cause of injuries and fatalities in the United States,

and studies show that most crashes are caused by human error. The software that

runs driverless cars is not capable of making mistakes. As a result, such vehicles will

be much safer. One technology company has a self-driving car that has driven for

over 700,000 miles – over one million kilometers – without an accident: a better

record than all but the best human drivers.

In addition, self-driving vehicles are good for the environment because they drive

more efficiently. On a typical journey within a city, drivers deal with urban traffic by

stopping and starting their engines repeatedly. This type of driving means engines

work less efficiently and this causes a lot of pollution. Driverless cars, on the other

hand, can communicate with other vehicles, which will reduce traffic problems.

Autonomous cars will be able to start and stop their engines less often and travel at

higher speeds.

Finally, autonomous cars will give passengers time. Instead of having to focus on

driving, human occupants can focus on other things. The average time for

commuting to and from work in the United States is about thirty minutes each way.

Instead of using this time to focus on the road, passengers in driverless cars can

read, watch videos or catch up on work.

The reading and the audio prompt are both about the advantages and disadvantages of driverless or self-driving cars respectively. The author of the reading prompt feels that driverless cars will benefit the humans in a lot of ways, thereby having a positive impact on our driving experience. Whereas the author of the audio prompt feels that there are many flaws in driverless cars as well.

To start with, the author of the reading prompt feels that the introduction of self-driving cars will reduce the risk of accidents as accidents are mostly caused by human error. However, the author of the audio prompt challenges this opinion. He claims that as the mechanisms of driverless cars are designed by humans, therefore human error can also play a big role in designing these cars. Furthermore, to support his position, the author of the reading prompt claims that the self-driving cars have driven more than 700,000 miles without any accident. To prove this wrong, the author of the audio prompt gives an example of the accident caused by a self-driving car last month which created headlines.

Secondly, the author of the reading prompt suggests that these cars are good for environment, reduce pollution as they are more efficent. The author of the audio prompt, however rebuts this by claiming that as these cars do not cause pollution, more people will be encouraged to drive these cars which will increase the population on the roads, thereby giving rise to pollution in other ways. Also, age restrictions will not be enforced for driving these cars, which will further increase the number of people driving it.

Lastly, the author of the reading prompt claims that the autonomous cars will reduce passengers time as people can do their office work, read or watch videos while going to work. To counter this, the author of the audio prompt feels that people drive as they find it relaxing. Therefore, people think of driving as a welcoming distraction rather than a burden, so devoting this time also to work will not be a good idea.

Thus, the author of the reading prompt and audio prompt have contrasting views about self-driving cars.