The following appeared in a memo from the business manager of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States."For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however,

Cheddar is “THE American” cheese, where Americans consumes the most, and more than any other country in the world. By streamlining products into one domestic cheese, the store can improve margins. In the given memo, the president of a US based chain of cheese stores recommends that they should stock domestic cheese only and discontinue stocking imported cheese. The president claims that this would lead to reduction of expenses due to the limitation on inventory. The argument is supported by the fact that the five best-selling cheeses in the past year at their newest stores were domestic cheeses. Moreover, a recent survey conducted by Cheese of the World magazine has indicated an increasing trend of consumption of domestic cheeses among its subscribers. A closer analysis of the argument reveals that it suffers from several logical fallacies.

America is the number one consumer of cheese in the world, and cheddar is the champion among all. Importing cheese from foreign countries, is highly risky in many sense. First, the custom and foreign policy greatly affect foreign sourcing. Dairy industry is the most heavily subsidized products in our dearest trade partners, Mexican, Canadian and EU creamery all backed by their big G. Current trade war, a continuations of tariff since the 1930s, is like hurricanes coming every summer in south Florida. You know they will come, but no idea when, and how often. By ditching un-American products, our store can truly become safe again.

American patriotism rules supreme from coast to coast, everlasting, ever-expanding. The first gun shot from Wisconsin now gives our finest cheese. We the Americans can truly be proud. Those selling un-American, inferior cheese store should be punished for their treacherous crimes. In this online age, anyone clicks on the bait, and no better name than “Cheeses of the World.” It promotes American value, and freedom. You see the star and stripes fly on July’s day, so bright blue and red, remembered in every summer’s home.

American consumerism maybe overwhelming, largest stores with largest variety, so people will come and shop. But cheese is a very perishable good, inventory and storage fee is high. On average, at the heat and moisture of a grocery store, a cheese can last a month. By eliminating alien cheese, domestic cheese will bring down various cost, including storage, re-stocking, refrigerant and shelf space renting.

Given the limited information, it in our company’s best interest to start import substitution, under the more triumphant American ideals. Those crying wolf knows so little about the rich American cheese history and international trade relationship.