The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the argument the manager recommends KNOW radio station to change their program to include 24-hour news in order to increase popularity. The author does this on the premise of examples presented in the argument. While the conclusion may hold water, it rests on three unwarranted assumptions which must be resolved before the company can take a decision.

Firstly, the author assumes that as the total numbers are declining, so is the popularity of the radio, all while mentioning the fact that there is an increased number of listeners who are older than 55. There could be multiple reasons why this is the case, for instance, it is possible that the number of young people in the area are decreasing by moving out for work or education. In addition, the author mentions later in the argument that switching to 24-hour news would increase the number old listeners. Here the author assumes that those people who stopped listening to the radio station are still present in the area. The author must provide evidence of the total population and the ages of the city before this decision can be taken.

Secondly, the author claims that due to reduction of sales of rock music in certain music stores, that people in the area are not interested in the genre. While this could be the case, it is also possible that the people who are buying from music stores are the only people listening to rock music. Moreover, there could be multiple reasons why there is a reduction in sales of rock music. It is possible that they are streaming the music from the internet, or the music stores do not sell the latest and trending music. Consequently, It is not possible to conclude that there is a decrease in trend of the interest in rock and roll music just by looking at the sales numbers of the rock-and-roll music store in a certain area. The author must provide additional evidence of the same in order to conclude so.

Thirdly, the author asserts that switching to news stations would be profitable by utilizing the data from other neighboring cities. Here, the author assumes that the demographics of the neighboring cities are similar to their city. It is possible that the people in other cities are more interested in news than the people in this city. Furthermore, it is possible that there are already existing news related radio stations which are providing 24-hour news and introducing the change would actually see a decline as people who listen to the other news channel show no interest in switching. This would also imply that the new radio channel would have decreased interest as the people who liked rock and roll music would also not listen. The author must provide clear evidence that the citizens are interested in news, and there is little competition from other stations for the genre. He must also provide evidence about the similarity of demographics of the two cities before concluding that KNOW radio station can switch to 24-hour news.

As it stands, the authors argument is weak and addressing the above concerns would help KNOW radio station make a better decision.