It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

In the prompt the author suggests that it might be more harmful to compromise one's own thoughts and reasoning than to follow them. However, I mostly disagree with the notion that we should not change our beliefs over time for two main reasons. Conversely, it can be harmful if we do not do so. But, in some cases I do concede that changing one's belief rapidly or forgoing normal ethics can be harmful.

Firstly, It has been proven that over the years that having rigidity in thought process is detrimental to improving one's own knowledge. For instance, in the 15th century, it was common consensus that the earth was flat and there was no land beyond the Atlantic ocean. When Christopher Columbus discovered what is now America, most of England was in disbelief. If everyone were rigid in their belief that the Earth is indeed flat and there is no way that America could exist, America would not be where it stands today. Another example, would be one of the more recent discoveries of the evidence of black holes. Most scientists believed that the black hole theory was just that, a theory, but Stephen Hawking and many other scientists worked hard together to prove its existence. When the first image of the black hole was captured, it was no longer possible to argue against its presence. This implies that we need to be flexible in our mindset and beliefs, and when new things are proposed or discovered they must be provided some acknowledgement. This helps in moving our scientific understanding of the world to new heights.

Secondly, it has also been observed that many people are so blinded by their own beliefs that do not get a clear picture of the truth that is surrounding them. For example, many people are under the notion that certain politicians are the most benevolent people on earth and are here to make life better for everyone. This masks their capacity to identify the faults of the politician and he can get away with malpractice as the people supporting him are blinded by his speeches and preaching. It is always necessary for an individual to keep their mind flexible and be critical of any politician or any such individual who appears innocuous. Doing so would lead to a better society with less deceit and make people's life better in general.

However, I do concede that we must be resolute and understand problems clearly before we attempt to solve it. For instance, a person seeking to solve an issue in society, must be sure that the problem exists and sure of the need for solving the problem. If an individual is contemplating whether to solve it or not, it is unlikely that a decision will be made. A person should also not go back and forth upon his thinking or beliefs, as this means that he is uneducated on the facts or unable to understand the circumstances correctly. Being overly flexible without evaluating opinions and facts might prove to be detrimental. However, it is always beneficial in being a little flexible and not being entirely rigid in one's beliefs as the prompt suggests.