The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how t

The author concludes that the only way to increase and attract moviegoers is to offer the same features as Apex, but this conclusion is not the real solution. According to the quotation, what we know is that many peoplo decrease the times to see movies because of the expensive ticket prices, not for the poor or old features of the theater; we don't know is that how people respond to the luxury equipment of Apex. All these details makes the conclusion unconvincing and digress from the real problem and solution.

Although the new-opened movie theater, Apex, is probably the most competitive opponent of Rialto, but there is no statistics about how many people have choosed to see movies at Apex instead of Rialto; maybe the amount of audience is poor. Since there is no evidence showing that Apex attracts more people, there is no reason that Rialto should adopt all features of Apex.

Moreover, the locations of two theaters may be the more important factor than equipment. Rialto is in the downtown, where is a excellent place to run entertainment business because there are many customers. On the contrary, Apex is in the mall outside of town, the location brings it not as many people as downtown does. In this respect, Rialto has the advantage to attract more audience.

Furthermore, according to the survey, most people said that they didn't go to movie theaters so often because the price is too high. If the result of survey is correct, which means that what makes people stay away from movie theaters is not the equipment but the ticket price. Therefore, there is nothing to do with how good the features of theaters are. If Rialto tries to attract more audience, the most effective way may be lowering the ticket price, but not investing money on expensive equipment which may force Rialto to reflect the cost to the customers - raising the ticket price further.

To sum up, the author jumps to conclusion with insufficient investigation; what Rialto should do to bring people back to movie theaters and create profit for itself is not blindly following Apex. Before Rialto takes any action, it really should dig deeper to find out the real reason of its bad profits, and strong evidence is needed to support that to be like Apex can make Rialto earn profits.