The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"Two studies of amphibians in Xanadu National Park confirm a significant decline in the numbers of amphibians. In 1975 there were seven species of amphibians in the park, and there were abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. One proposed explanation is that the decline was caused by the introduction of trout into the park's waters, which began in 1975. (Trout are known to eat amphibian eggs.)"

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author argues that, there is a significant decline in the number of amphibians. And to bolster his argument, the author has provided evidence that the reduction in amphibians in Xanadu National Park is due to the introduction of the trout into the park's water. This argument seems to be valid at first glance, but when we analyze this argument in detail it is flawed because the author does have not provides the exact number by which the species were declined. The alternative explanation for the author's argument is given as follows.

Firstly, the author assumes that the reduction in amphibians is due to the introduction of the trout into the Xanadu National Park's water. But there may be other factors responsible for the reduction of the amphibians such as disturbed prey-predator life cycle. It is possible that there might be other amphibians who make prey to most of the amphibians. Also, it is possible that the amphibians get hard to find their prey in the water. Hence they are getting less amount of food and due to appetite they died. Therefore, this might be one of the reasons behind their extinction.

Additionally, it is possible that there is a scarcity of water in Xanadu National Park area. Hence the water level is not enough to survive them in Xanadu National Park. Again, the amount of water is dirty and in a degraded state, for this reason, the water is not suitable for the survival of the amphibians. Therefore the amphibians such as frogs, that can live on land as well, get escaped from there to some other water body. And some amphibians died in water due to dirty state of water.

Lastly, disease can be the major reason behind the endangered amphibians. Moreover, amphibians lived in the National Park, it is possible that they were not getting the proper treatments for the disease. Additionally, the workers in the park are not well-educated to treat the disease of the amphibians. And hence the population got affected by other disease and get dead. The author should consider these factors as the reason behind the extinction of the amphibians.

In conclusion, the author has assumed only the introduction of trout in the water park is the reason behind the extinction of the amphibians. However, there might be other factors responsible such as disturbed prey-predator life cycle, scarcity of water and disease, as mentioned above. Hence the author should also consider these alternative explanations. By discussing these possible reasons, the author is able to make his reasoning more logical and convincing.