“Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education plays a vital role in upbringing and creativity of an individual, and it is also the most important factor in the success of an individual. The Author’s statement claims that, we will be more free without formal education seems quite reasonable. It is a well know fact that our mind adepts very fast when we are in our early development age, and by giving us plausibility to experiment will definitely make our mind more creative.

To begin with, creativity is a path to success, and formal education restricts an individual’s creativity. Let’s consider an example, let say a student have more predilection towards learning a musical instrument, but due to the formal education procedure he is restricted. If he wants to learn how to play an musical instrument he has to devote an extra time and will also require spending extra money, other than the education which he is provided in school. In order to learn the instrument. Subsequently, he will seclude himself from school.

In Addition, history also have many examples which suggests formal education is only restraining our minds and spirits. Einstein, Newton, Mark—ceo of facebook, and many more, are a paragon, who went against the formal education and ended up, building or creating something new and innovating. When an individual is free from any restrain he/she trend to experiment, tends to go out of the box to create something new, something they are interested in. These restricted ways of teaching is just killing our creativity.

However, we cannot deny the importance of the rules and regulations, this brings discipline among students. But being too strict on the rules and regulation in an eduction also kill’s ones creativity, so it is important to have right balance between them. Success rate of an individual is not just determined by his open mind and spirit, but also how much dedication, discipline, and passionate he/she is towards his/her goals. Formal education is very useful in order to bring such kind of discipline in one’s life and it is very important for one to succeed.

In conclusion, we cannot deny the importance of the rules and regulation, but to be more creative we have to set free our mind and spirit, and this can only be achieved by not restraining ourself by restricted education procedures.