The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University states the argument that offered a free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children will increase the faculty retention in the University and will also help in luring new professors may seems tenable at first glance. However, the conclusion relies on the assumption for which there is no clear evidence, which makes this argument tenuous.

The primary concern with the premises is that the author fails to give a clear legitimate evidentiary support, that the declivity in the number of professors in the Seatown University is just due to the fact that their children not offered free tuition at the university. The author fails to take other factors into account and assay it properly. This might be due to not easy accessibility of Seatown University, university is located in remote area, due to which many professors find it difficult to reach Seatown University. There might be other factors also such that due to wages they are given, harsh climate and much more. The author should consider all the possible factors into account in order to strengthen the argument.

In Addition, the author fails to explain the link between the Oceania University and Seatown University, that he assumes exists and weakens his argument. The study was conducted at nearby Oceania University, this might be possible that the professors at Oceania University don't have same thinking and penchant as in Seatown University professors. It is not cogent to say that the professors at the Seatown University also want a free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children.

However, it is not to say that his whole argument is without base, well he has some key issues in his argument, but he holds a valid point that this will surely help other professors to join Seatown University.

In sum, the author irrational argument is invalid as there are many flaws in his assumption and unsubstantiated premises like failing to explain a link between Oceania University and Seatown University, and mot taking other factors in account while conducting a study on Oceania University.

If author wish to change the readers ming he has to largely reconstruct his argument, fix the flaws in premises and remove the assumptions, in order to convince the president of Seatown University.