Formal education tends to restrain our minds and sprits rather than sets them free

Although formal education tend to restrain our minds and sprits rather than to set them free, it inevitably leads to more significant progress and evolution of personal skill. Formal education is what, which is taught in schools as a course. The cardinal significance of formal education lies on the facts: to provide golden opportunity to have equal method of learning and also in creating appropriate and compatible member in the society. However, if principals of formal education is not properly utilized, it may cause in distraction of creativity of students.

First, each and every people of the nation has right to have formal education, not only for developing personal skills but also for creating an skilled manpower in the society. Equal method of learning, an important parameter of human development index, is provided only by formal education system because it is the systematic arrangement of plethora of knowledges from different fields say, maths, history, science and so on. The index measuring the education level among the peoples of any country is measured in terms of the numbers of peoples acquiring the formal eduction. Formal education is only the system that provides equality among students, as an example; a student acquiring a formal education up to certain level in one country say, India can go to the next country for the continuity of study, which was rather impossible in absence of the formal education system.

Moreover formal education helps to create appropriate and compatible manpower in every society of every nation. In Nepal, there is still a type of group persons who favors to stay in forest and are likely to gain the knowledge from nature and natural events. Although they worship nature and they are free to learn so many things from nature, they are found back even in basic concepts and ideas of formulation and exploration of knowledge. They are not compatible in the educated society of the nation and are still backward. But for a given country every people acquiring formal education are found, easily soluble in any other part of the country. These example reinforce how formal education makes people compatible in a society.

Instead, if formal education is oriented only on regular class at schools, homeworks and classworks and punishment for who do not obey rules and regulations, it may surely deteriorate the student’s creativity and engages them only on the boundary of school. Most of the schools of Nepal are found to focus on core theories, vehement mathematical calculations rather than on the practical education. Students are forced to know what is taught and exams are conducted in order to write what teachers have taught on class. Students coming from this system are found less creative and more book oriented.

As a concluding remark, the formal education system is promising not only to create skilled manpower but also teach value of discipline on students. However, if this system is not concerned on student’s skill and capacity it may lead a serious problem of deterioration of student’s creativity.