Government must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive, because it is primarily in cities that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Cultural traditions are the identity of the nation and there is no doubt that we should protect our cultural traditions in order to protect our identity. The major cities are the limelight of the nation where majority of the people are gathered in order to live a better life and so it is acceptable that government should allocate more fund to the cities in order to thrive. But, as the fund is primarily concerned with the preservation and the generation of the cultural tradition, I completely disagree with the assertion as cities are not the right place where cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Major cities are the limelight of the nation where majority of the people come to reside in the hope of living a better and comfort life. In the context of underdeveloped Asian countries like Nepal, Bhutan, India, Bangladesh and so forth, majority of the people residing in the cities are out-of-towners, and they live in the city area in the hope of getting quality education, better job, better health care, business and other facilities. Since, majority of these people are primarily concerned with their job and business and spend most of their time thinking about their career, they do not have time for the preservation and generation of the cultural tradition. Thus, I believe that funding in metropolises for the sake of preserving culture is redundant.

Similarly, the youngsters living in the city area are mostly apathetic towards cultural tradition. They are unaware about the nation’s traditional dance, traditional songs, traditional dress, customs, arts and literature. These modern young people are rather inclined towards internet online social programs and playing online games. Further, these young people are highly fascinated towards western culture such as western dress, western songs, dance, and even tattooing, piercing body parts, listening vulgar music etc. In these scenarios, we cannot expect that city people will devote their time in the preservation and generation of the nation’s culture and traditions. Therefore, I personally believe that cities are not the right place where culture is generated and preserved.

Although, village and countryside of the nation are sparsely populated and poorly developed, people living in the village are conscious about their culture and traditions and they always make effort in preserving them. For instance, during the marriage ceremonies, rice feeding ceremonies and other cultural ceremonies, people of the village follows their cultural traditions that are inherited to them by their forefathers, and so these people always celebrate these special occasions by playing cultural songs and music in cultural dress. While, in the case of city people, marriage is done in court in the presence of no more than a couple of people. Further, in the case of countryside life, all people celebrate their festivals by spending their happy moments with their relatives, talking about their life moments, playing traditional music, wearing traditional dress and taking traditional food. Whereas in the case of city people, they usually spend their festival time either by playing cards, gambling and drinking, if they remain in the city. Majority of the people living in the city area returns to their home village during some special occasion or festivals also proves that city is not the right place where culture is preserved. It is the village area where culture is generated and preserved.

In conclusion, I completely disagree with the claim that government should make adequate financial support to the city in order to preserve nation’s cultural tradition. I believe that it is always the countryside where cultural traditions are generated and preserved, and so in my opinion government should endow adequate fund to the village if it really wants to preserve nation’s cultural traditions.