Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The notion that the government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than carry out the will of the people they serve highlights the difficulty of decision making in politics. The role of the government official is to serve and represent the citizens' concerns, but this, in fact, may sway the official's position that may counter the right judgment that the government official may have. Considering both sides of the argument, the government official is elected by the citizens; hence, the citizens trust that the government officials will make the right judgment concerning the will of the people impacting for the better society and well-being.

In order to become a government official, the candidate must prepare intensively before entering the government. The combination of education, work experience, and leadership capability measures the official's preparedness and execution of the duties that the government aims to serve its public. For example, the government official may be required to pass the civil service exams that are incredibly difficult without studying arduously and intensely. The motivation, dedication, and the drive to pass the civil service exam extends to the same intrinsic quality to serve the public as well. As a result, the government official's goal to achieve the will of the people shows through their work ethic.

Furthermore, the government officials are actively engaged with the community prior to their election; hence, the constant contact and dialogue exchanged with the community allow the officials to determine the needs of the citizens firsthand. For example, in order to become the President of the United States, the candidate visits various rallies, universities, and communities to have the one-on-one interaction that the citizens hope to express and inform the government official to acknowledge. When selecting which agendas or priorities to be of importance when elected into office, the president-elect will have the determination as to decide which judgment will be of the most benefit for the citizens. Consequently the experience of the government officials becomes ever more important because their experience may create the best judgment for the people.

Moreover, although the government officials may be criticized if they make the wrong judgment, they were still selected into the position as they have prepared for the both the positive and negative consequences that come forth to serve the citizens. For instance, when the financial crisis occurred in2008, President Bush had an immense workload during his presidency to recover the slowed economy across the world. As the United States is one of the major economic power, the world was depending on actions of the President to save the large financial institutions through bailout. At the expense of the taxpayer's money, the large financial institutions were saved that in turn saved the U.S. economy from collapsing. The judgment has both favorable and adverse consequences, but the citizen's trust for the government official lead to the actions that had profound impact in the financial sector particularly. The opportunity cost of decision making comes as the government official needs to make a wise choice that will be more beneficial than without taking the action.

In conclusion, the government officials should rely on their judgments when making decisions that will benefit the citizens at most. Although some may dislike the decisions that the government official makes, the citizens at large may benefit greatly from the judgments as the officials are engaged in various high level advisors who help them make the best judgment as possible.