College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

College students are exposed to various courses and curriculums from their university. Although these courses provide many options to choose from, the students should focus their studies on courses that will help them lead to their favorable jobs upon graduation.

The average U.S. university student will attend their program for four years. Given this limited time frame and the expenses that students are willing to pay for their education, students will have better return on investment on education that will help them financially to support themselves when they take courses leading to great jobs. For instance, in order to become a doctor, the student will be enrolled in the general sciences, and specialize in a certain discipline. In return, the prospective student of becoming a doctor has a path that will lead to a lucrative career in medicine. As part of the university degree, students have the option to have enrolling in elective courses that may broaden beyond medicine and explore other areas of interest for the student; however, the chosen major will guide the student of having a job lined up rather than being unemployed.

In addition to the return on investment, students have the opportunity to prepare for building professional network as a college student. If the college student are enrolled in various courses, the scattered courses will prevent them from deepening the knowledge, expertise, and skills required to do well in the actual professional setting. Students may pursue their hobbies and interests during their spare time, but preparing for a career during the college years will help the students in the long run.

In conclusion, college students should focus their studies that will help them lead to a job upon graduation. Rather than preparing for a career out of school, students have the professors and resources available to help them prepare them in the long run. Having a focused and disciplined academic career will guide the student for an easier transition in the professional working world.