Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The “Soul” of any country is its people and the main purpose or responsibility of any government of a country is to serve these people through their representatives called government officials. So if a government takes any decision without considering the opinions of their citizens will not bear a good result at end of the day. So I totally disagree with the point that government officials should rely on their own judgment rather consulting the people whom they serve.

In any democratic country the government should be “for the people”, “to the people”, and “from the people”. So if a government takes any decision without respecting the above core values of a democratic country then it’s like government is snatching the fundamental rights of the people.

Whenever government officials are planning to implement any new projects or any law in the country or a place where they are serving, if they involve the citizens while planning it may help them in achieving success far better than they achieve without the involvement of the public. For example if a city corporation is planning a development of the city for next five years, it can invite the peoples representatives or any interested people to involve in the planning. They can call for suggestions from people and after thoroughly discussed with the experts and representatives the government can implement the new plan for development of the city. By this people of that locality will be satisfied and also it increases the trust on government officials. End of the day whatever government is doing it will be for the development of there own people, wright?

If decisions taken without consulting the people representatives may cause lot of damage to city or even a country economy. For example In India huge percentage of people lives in villages and their main income is through farming. In 2020 when Indian Prime Minister announced new agricultural laws on farmers, without taking suggestion of farmer representatives it created lot of disappointment from farmers and it reflected in terms of protest. Which almost lasted for two years. Due to which lot of damage has done to Indian economy and even during protest few people lost their precious life.

Therefore it can be better to say that government officials should serve the will of the people and work towards their prosperity, if they don’t and just rely on their own judgment people will actually would not accept them and consequences of this will damage the fundamental principle of a country.