Government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development

I believe that technology improvement can make human lead a better life, but technology may also generate lots of tough issues. In my opinion, I disagree with the statement that governments should place few restrictions on scientific research and development.

Indeed, in twentieth century, many extraordinary scientists and engineers devoted their time and energy to creating lots of outstanding invention, such cars and airplanes. Because the governments did not set lots of strict laws to restrict these scientists and engineers, they could fully utilize their ability to create lots of these practical inventions and help many undeveloped countries to industrialize. In the 2010s, lots of world-class companies, such as Google and Facebook, are still developing a good deal of advanced technologies, like artificial intelligence and virtual reality. These technologies can actually make people have a brighter future.

However, if governments do not put any restrictions on scientific research and development, it will cause numerous ethical issues. For example, in the 1990s, there were many biologists actively engaging in doing some research about human cloning. People may utilize this technology to proliferate, but it would produce lots of tough ethnical issues. Children would not know who were his or her parents and might encounter many genetic diseases. Moreover, scientists might also use this technology to do something illegal, and they might cultivate lots of cloning animals and cooperate with other merchants to gain illegal profits. Thus, in 1995, Taiwanese government decided to legislate prevent these scientists to break the laws. In contrast, other foreign governments, such as China and North Korea, didn’t actively legislate to restrict their scientists. Thus, there are many illegally biological experiments conducted in these countries, and many ethical problems have been generated subsequently.

Moreover, if governments place few restrictions on scientific research and development, it will generate lots of environmental problems. Take TSMC, which is the top-notch semiconductor enterprise in the entire world, as an example. In 1986, Taiwanese government decided to establish TSMC at Hsinchu city to develop semiconductor industry in Taiwan. However, Taiwanese government didn’t set any laws to prevent this company from polluting the environment. Thus, TSMC produce lots of harmful materials, such as metal pollutants and waste water. PM2.5 in Hsinchu city also exceed the normal standard. To deal with these issues, the local government determined to set a series of strict laws to address these problems. Furthermore, the local government also asked TSMC reduce the discharging amount of waste water, or TSMC would be fined up to five million dollars. As a result, the quality of water and air in Hsinchu city became better and better, and the poisonous materials were never detected again. On the contrary, if the local government did not ask TSMC to improve these issues, there might be more environmental problems produced in Hsinchu city.

Ideally, technologies can make people lead a greater life and improve our society. However, if the government do not set many strict laws, it will produce lots of serious problems. Thus, I disagree with the statement that the government should place few restrictions on scientific research and development.