“Government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.”

Some people might think that the government should not intervene in any kind of scientific research, such action might cause some important breakthrough from not happening. I think some restriction over the research is helpful and needed to prevent any form of tragedy from happening.

Those contend we should trust the science and let it develop on its own, then some game-changing breakthrough might happen and bring good to society. However, what they do not think of is that what if scientists go too far? what if they become crazy as they study deeper and deeper? For example, the first clone pig surprised the globe with the signal saying that we humans can challenge the god and create animals out of nowhere. However, we have been hearing that some scientists have continued trying to clone humans, which is terrifying, thus we add restrictions on cloning technology.

Further, nuclear science is dangerous, what if scientists do not know the boundaries and implement some treacherous experiments inside their labs? Maybe the radiation will leak and cause disasters at large scales, or maybe they utilize the technology as weapons that will cause harm to society? All these things are worth concerning that if scientists go too far, what will come afterward? Thus, it is necessary for us to put restrictions on scientific research, it is not to impede science growth, it is to supervise if scientists go out of control.

However, the rule cannot be too restricted, or it will sure restrain the scientific growth, so the restrictions are supposed to be the boundary of how far can the scientists go, for instance, the limit of cloning technology is that we cannot clone a whole person, an organ is fine, but not a whole human being. This is the boundary that separates the craziness and actual scientific development, says, once we all stay in the line, then there should not be any restriction on us.

All in all, I contend that if we let scientists do everything they want, surely something great might happen, but tragedies might also come along, so it is necessary to put restrictions on scientific research for the good of whole mankind.