Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

It is essential for the nation to preserve their cultural traditions, as it defines a lifestyle for the future generation. However, I contend with the statement that the Government should provide financial support to major cities as they preserve the national culture and are the origins of it. Major cities are not the only places where the nation's cultural traditions are preserved, town, villages play a similar role in preserving the traditional values.

In the nation, major cities, due to more amenities and opportunities, attract foreigners. Also, people from different parts of the nation like to live in major cities as it provides more job opportunities and business arguments. And hence, this is the reason, major cities always represent the amalgamation of different cultures. And as most of the residents of the major cities have common interests: business, job, career, it always leads to the professional culture, and thus, it diminishes the traditional culture of the nation.

On the other hand, villages and towns of the nation are the true forfeits of the traditional cultures. Major cities always represent a demanding lifestyle for the development of the country. So people in their old age living in the cities like to emigrate back to the villages and their hometown as they find a peaceful lifestyle and their true culture is preserved there.

Some may argue that as major cities are the places where all the people from the country lives it will generate new culture. So, it is necessary to provide financial support to major cities to preserve it. I agree with it, but again this does not provide any evidence that how funds would help to preserve traditional values in the major cities.

In sum, I disagree with the statement that the government should provide financial support to major cities as cities preserve and generate national culture. Villages, towns, and small cities are in a true way to preserve the culture and play a similar role in generating the culture.