The greatness of individuals can be detected only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Some people say that someone's true value is always determined when they are not with us. However, that is not true; greatness can not be determined only by those who live after them. one's contemporaries can know better about the facts and hence they can truely judge the person unlike the people who judge the person just by the stories, biographies and other resources.

one may argue that judging a person while they are alive can be difficult. Greatness can be judged only when a whole story has been seen because a person may change their views and values of life. Also person's position, their success change throughout their lifespan. For example, Abraham Linkon, once the president of United states, has seen many faliures in his life, during that time his contemparies may not value his his greatness untill he became the president. So it is important that people see person's life as a the whole picture and then decide their greateness and that can only done by the people who live after them. Though, it seems considerable there are flaws in these arguments.

People living after an individual has only resorces to judge them. These resources only has major events of a persons life and there can be biased. Most of the biographies and auto-biographies include only positive aspects of a person's life. Hearing facts from people can also be biased and change with individuals. One can not truely judge a person based on just these resources which represent reality that can not be validated.

Even though person's values and greatness can change during his lifespan, it can not be said that thier greatness can only be judged by the people who live after them and not with them.