It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Social cliques play an intrinsic role in defining one's personality. However, it is one of the factors affecting it. It does not mean that it subjugates other factors in defining one's personality and thus I disagree with the statement.

Some consensus with the statement can be considered, that is the social cliques serve as a source to share and converse the ideas. The hegemony of certain ideas influences one's personality. For example, People congregating often get influenced by the edify shared by the leader of the clique. In the field of politics, a group or party often try to influence people's thought and thoughts define their personality. Hence, it can be argued that social groups do influence our personality.

However, saying that it is the primary source for one's identification or personality is contradictory. People who are introverts do not like to be associated with any social groups or their social groups are limited to 3-4 people. It can be manifested that their personality is not defined by any group and that does not mean they do not have any individual personality.

Moreover, some people like to be associated with more than one social group, even the groups that share different ideas but, they are free to choose their views and personalities even they can decide to be neutral and not follow any social group's ideas. Hence, even though a person is associated with the groups, it depends on the individual which ideas they want to follow or get influenced by. A ramification leads to the fact that it is an individual's volition to get influenced by particular thoughts that define their personality and not the clique.

Another reason for my disagreement is that social groups are not the only factor that defines an individual's persona. There are other factors like their interest, their field of studies, their idols, heredity, a family background that contributes to their personality.

To conclude, social groups, do influence a person's thoughts and personality but saying it is a primary reason is unreliable. Other factors equally contribute to defining the person.