Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The conundrum of whether to focus on the present issues or try to solve issues in the future in a preemptive manner is ever present. this is true for noraml human being in their every day life. humans struggle in daily basis beween the choice of a cheese burger now or being in good shape later, party now for enjoyment or stay desciplined and work so that you can reep the benefits later, etc. For a government, even more so, these tradeoff is crucial. The issue that government focus on would decide how the futire pf the country would turn oput to be. it is indisputable that immediate issues needs attention and fixing. Turnnign a blinfd eye to such immidiate issues would even be seen as immoral or incompetent. However there is a key fact we need to consider: if the governments anticipated these issues in the past, the issue may not have been grown to point that it need immediate or serious attention. should the government correcty anticipated this earlier, there may not be an issue at the present in the first place. it is comming from this genreal stream of argument that I disagree with the statement, and suggest that governments should focus on solving anticipates problems, rather than focusing on immediate problems.

countries like USA are rife with the threat of hurricanes. hurricanes are a natural disaster that have a potential to do sever harm for human life and property. but such hurricanes can be easily anticipates, given the high accuracy of weather forcast that are available. In such a case anticipating the disaster would allow for sufficient and prompt citizen relocation, warning the public about the impending disaster so they can act adequately to save their property or mitigate the damage for the property. this would be more benificial to the public. As opposed to this if governments focused on current trivial issues that it has and does not try to anticipate such disaster, government may incur huge, not only economical, but also social costs: economic costs due to the damages and concessions that the government now need to pay for the public for the lost property and lifes due to lack of advanced notice, and social costs in the form of civil unrest and losing of populartiy of the government among the citizens as a competent and responsible one. Contrarily, if the government did anticipate the disaster and provide the public with necessary assistance, the government would be lauded and public approval of the government would prevail.

Moreover, focus on immediate issues make governments lose sight of the future. For example, governments of countries like sri lanka accrue large loans from countries like china, focusing on the current development projects. this would serve as sudden spikes of development of quality of life and luxury. this would make an illusion on the development status of a country. even the public would be saisfied about the work of government, in the short run. but the adverse effects of such loans start to show only after several decades of time. it would be a nightmare for the governments to come to pay these humongous debts. they would be pressed to tax excessively the people, they may very well need to rent out or gift valuable assets of the country in compensation. sri lanka is already doing this; they have rented out several of their harbors to the chinese government. this is sure to result in public unrest and steep economic fall, which would have a more permenant and severe mark on the countries progress, than the issue that they currently try ing to solve.

it is important for the governments to look into what is important in the future. Otherwise, they will succumb to more sever permanent issues.