“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

The author the memo tries the convey the idea that there is a decrease in viewers for super screen movies and the reason for that decrease is, despite the increased postive review percentage for specific movies bu super screen movies, is that that people are unaware of theses good quality movies. this argument, looked at a superficial level seems intuitive. It may be reasonable for one to argue that the reason for low audience, despute high quality verified by the reviewers, is that the lack of awareness in the audience. However, the critical analyser of this argument would find that the line of argument is rife with holes and ommissions. The critical analyser would make quaries pertaining to theses ambiguities, answers to whcih may clarify the underlying assumptions of the author, hence sheding more light to acurate evaluation of the recommendation.

The advertising director talks about a decrease in the number of audience. this decrease referred here seems to be about the decrease in audience as a whole for every movie. The underlying assumption used here by the director is that since the number of audience reduced as a whole, number of audience for the movies with high reviews were also wrong. A worthwhile question to ask would be on the isolated change in audience number for moviews with good reviews. For example, if the audience number is high for a movie with good review than for the average movie in the market, the argument of the weak communication channel between the movies and the audience becomes weak. In such a situation, the recommendation may deem to be invalidated.

Another worthwhile question to ask would be that how the general movie industry is performing at the time. if audience for the movies as a whole is reduced, irrespective of the studio, ratings of the movie, the recommendation would not necessarily increase the number of audience. In such a situation, allocating greater share for marketing would result in an wastesul cost.

The author is also keen to point out that the "percentage of reviewers" who gave positive reviews for a movie, on specific movies, have increased. here the percentage increase is ambiguous. A worthwhile question that could be asked is whether the absolute number of reviewers that have given good reviews have been increases, and if so, by how much. For example in a total of small number of reviewers, number of positive reviews incresing would result in a large increase in percentages, without any significant actual increase in positive reviews. The audience may be aware of this and that would be the reason they are not interested in these movies.g. In such a situation the recommendations would prove to be futile, and will not result in increased audience. Thus looking into the actual absolute numbers would be advisable.

The author of this argument have given a recommendation that relies on ambiguos forms of statistics and unclear notions on the behaviour of the market. The author have taken some assumption that at best can be said as trivial, as opposed to critical and well evaluated. answering the above mentioned questions would reveal the validity of the underlying assumptions of the author, allowing more insight on the issue and situation at hand. this would help evaluate the outcomes of the recommendations more comprehensively.