Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

The issue that is stated here is about whether the government should invest in arts as much as they do in the military. I mostly disagree with this for the following reasons.

To begin with, the Military is an essential part of any country. An efficient military system helps to protect the entire country from its enemies. The government should give priority to all three military types such as Army, Navy, and Air force over any other internal developments unless they are most necessary. In this regard, the military has to be allocated more funds over arts. For example, let us consider a country 'A' has invested twenty billion dollars each in the military and the arts. Now, there might be a possibility that this amount of funds allocated to the military are not sufficient as the enemy troop might be more powerful and we could not gather an equal amount of resources because of the scarcity of funds. Perhaps, if some part of the art funds were diverted to the military, then it would have helped the military to arrange more resources and hence win against the enemy troop.

To continue with, military people stay far from their families, and also, they are ready to sacrifice their lives to protect the country. so, it is the basic responsibility of any government to support all the families of the military people at any and every point in their lives. For this to happen, the government has to allocate sufficient funds to the military department. For instance, if any soldier sacrifices their life in any national war, then it is the government's responsibility to take the financial care of the immediate family members of the soldier. It cannot just say no because of a lack of funds. So, the government has to sufficiently allocate the required amount of funds to the military department in order to fulfill all its goals and responsibilities.

On the other hand, one cannot say that arts are not important at all for a country to prosper. Art can be of any form say, dance, music, painting, sketching, and many others. It is the art that helps individuals to think deeply, gain focus, and main other things which can commonly be stated as individual development. Art also helps people provide passionate work (for those who are keen on it). For instance, let us consider the famous Picasso paintings. Suppose these do not exist, then many painting artists would not have taken birth. These paintings also make the nation prestigious. So, arts being backed up by the government is also needed but it needs to consider the various factors when considering how much funds needs to be allocated to various fields.

Hence, it is needed for the government to invest in both arts and the military. For that matter, it has to invest in various many other fields for effective development as a nation. However, it is complex to decide how much it has to invest in absolute figures. It depends on various other factors such as the current country's situation, in which field, the country is lagging, and many others.