We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

Life is not always same. Everyone has to face ups and downs at any point in their lives. We should always neither complain about the struggles nor be super proud during the success period. Be it a struggling phase or a success phase, life always teaches us something or the other. However, which phase of life teaches us most valuable lessons is still a debatable one. I strongly agree that what life teaches us in struggling phase is more valuable for two reasons.

To begin, Life is never predictable. A person who is struggling today might suddenly land into a success phase over a short duration and vice versa. For instance, in the 1800s and 1900s, India was being ruled by British and it was under their control for about 200 years. This period was very disaster to all the Indians and they were in severe struggling phase. On the Contrary, the British were successful in ruling India and were exploiting the India and its resources but the point is were they consistent and successful in exploiting and invading India ? “Absolutely No”. Were Indians in struggling phase throughout without any freedom?. No. Instead, they have gathered in mass groups and discussed what is lacking in them to win against British and learnt how to overcome the mistakes from their struggling phase and with unity, many plans and strategies were implemented and hence entered into successful phase of independent India.

Further, even if we assume that a successful phase also teaches equally important lessons in one’s life, it is necessary to see that the success is not being dominated by the lessons it tries to teach which generally happens in most of the cases. For example, lets say, a company A is a manufacturer of electronic products and currently it is at top position having a market share of say 40% which is good enough to state that it is in the leading position. However, if employees of ‘A’ thinks that they are going to be in that position without any strategies or skills for a long time, then they are definitely to get burned because sustaining in market in not easy without learning from the path lead to success. Maintaining the success is equally important as the phase that was underwent to get succeeded. With these practices and ideologies, definitely they are going to lose the considerable amount of market share to the opponents who are in struggling phase, improving day by day with upgrading the skills and learning from their struggles to overcome their limitations. Also, Research has consistently demonstrated that, above all the other factors, a person who consistently works on weaknesses, learn from the struggles and work ass off to overcome them is more likely to get succeeded and will be able to sustain for longer period than other way.

Of course, some argue that with enjoying success, helps us to be humble, down to earth, respectful to peers and many others. However, in majority of the cases, success will be followed by being proud, selfish, delimiting others etc. So the scope for learning from success is almost negligible. So, a person is more developed ethically, character wise and in all other phenomenon from the learnings of overcoming the limitations during the struggling period against the culmination period.