Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

The overall effect of mass media and the internet on the public has been positive. Though it has lessened the people's attention span on particular information but increased their ability to prioritize the information. I strongly agree with this for the following reasons.

To begin with, the content present on the internet and mass media is increasing day by day, thereby providing the user to gain more and more knowledge on various subject backgrounds. As time is constrained in contrast with the amount of information present, it is making people increase their ability to filter out the important information that is required. For example, let us assume a student preparing for an interview related to the computer science field. When he tries to browse the internet to gather some information pertaining to his field, it is known that he will get the information from various sources. As a result, he might be not able to give equal time to refer to all the sources but he develops an ability to distinguish the information based on its importance to him. Thus he will be able to get all the necessary information to prepare well for his interview thereby cracking the interview successfully. So, it can be stated that even though mass media and the internet might have made people's attention less, it improved the ability of an individual to distinguish the important content over others.

Further, this ability also helps people to get a bird's eye view of all the topics and then can dive into a particular topic that is much needed to him or her. For instance, a professor in a college is expected to have knowledge about all the concepts corresponding to the subject he teaches. Considering the fact that there is humongous information about any topic on the internet, it is not viable for anyone to acquire total knowledge about the entire topic. But, as the content is very huge on the internet, he develops the ability to have a bird's eye view on most of the topics and then deep-diving into a particular topic that is needed to teach his or her students. Thus the mass content on information on the internet helps people to get more information on a particular topic along with having an idea about all the related areas.

However, some might argue that attention to a particular topic is more important than the ability to distinguish important data. But, practically this does not make any sense as a person with only a grip on a single topic cannot reach a high position in his or her life. Hence the mass media and internet affect the public that it increases his or her ability to sort the large chunk of information even though it might make the attention span get shorter is a positive notion for the public to develop in his or her life