According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising

In the memo taken from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie production Company, it is stated that, the reason behind only few people attending their movies is because of public's lack of awareness about the good quality movies. However, before evaluating this recommendation, the following questions has to be considered.

To begin with, can percentage increase actually mean the absolute figures ? In the recommendation, it is stated that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers have increased in past year. For example, it might be possible that the number of good reviews might have actually reduced and also, the total number of reviews given for a movie might have reduced. hence as a result, the percentage of positive reviews might have increased. Further more, many reviewers might have actually ignored the movie which might have resulted in increase of percentage. If any of the reasons mentioned above has merit, then the recommendation is significantly weakened.

To continue with, can reviews not reaching the public only be the reason for public not visiting movies ? It mght be possible that the people have actually decided to cut short the entertainment expenses which might have resulted in less audience. Further, piracy might have also increased in a large extent which perhaps resulted in less occupancy of movie theatres. If these reasons are considerable, then the recommendation does not hold water.

Further, can increase in advertisements improve the attendees in a theatre for a movie ? In other words, can more advertisements make the people come to the theatre and watch a movie ? Perhaps, the main reason the people avoided movie might be that the movie might not have reached their expectations. Further, even though the movie is assumed to be good, initially some people might have watched the movie and intentionally might have spread negative review about the movie and thus, the strength in theatre might have significantly reduced. If any of the aforementioned reasons holds good, then recommendation is seriously weakened.

In conclusion, as stated above, the recommendation of the advertising director about less people attending movies is considerably flawed due to its relevance on above unstated assumptions. If the advertising director provides more evidence(perhaps in the form of more substantial research data), then the recommendation can be evaluated.