A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

In the recent study about the children living in the Himalayan region in Nepal and those living in suburban areas in the United States, it is stated that children who belong to the Himalayan mountain region have lower levels of tooth decay than the latter ones'. However, before the study indication is actually analyzed, the following unstated assumptios have to be considered.

To begin with, the author bases his argument only on a recent study (say, study duration of 2 years). For example, it might be possible that the Himalayan mountain children might have more tooth decays several years before than the US children. However, over the years, they might have practiced proper tooth care methods which helped them in reducing tooth decay to the maximum extent. If this assumption holds good, then the argument is significantly weakened.

To continue further, the author assumes that dental care implies only visiting a dentist. Maintaining healthy teeth can also be considered dental care. For example, It may be that the Himalayan children brush their teeth regularly twice a day in contrast with US children, who might brush only once a day. Further, the Himalayan children may not consume any food items that might lead to tooth decay. If any of the reasons mentioned above has merit, then the assumption does not hold water.

Further, the author concludes that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. Perhaps, the US children might be having very severe tooth decays and might have reduced to a greater extent ( though more tooth decays compared to Himalayan children) after proper dental care in form of drinking water regularly, brushing teeth, visiting dentist, and many others. This reason can seriously weaken the author's conclusion if the aforementioned assumption holds good.

In conclusion, as stated, the argument is considerably flawed due to its reliance on various unstated assumptions. If the author provides more evidence to the above assumptions (perhaps in the form of more research data) then it is more viable to analyze the author's recent study about the Himalayan children and the United States children.