The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the recommendation sent by the human resources of Climpson Industries to their company’s president, it is stated that monitoring employees’ internet use from their workstation to make them reduce the work hours spent on personal and recreational activities will help improve employees’ productivity and in turn the overall company profits. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three unstated assumptions need to be considered.

To begin with, the human resources assume that employees are browsing the personal stuff only in their workstations. It might be possible that employees use their personal devices to browse the internet. Further, they might also use the common workplaces to browse the internet rather than using their allocated work stations. If either of these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original recommendation is significantly weakened.

In the second place, It is assumed that employees are not wasting work hours in any other ways. In other words, human resources think that employees are wasting time only in form of personal browsing at work station. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps, employees may involve more in chit chat with their co-employees there by wasting work hours. Further, they might spend more time in cafeteria, game rooms. If the above is true, then the recommendation doesn’t hold water.

To continue with, human resources link the overall company profits directly to the employees’ productivity and work ethics. It might be possible that even though the employees are productive and ethical, the company business strategies might not be effective that could lead to less profits. Additionally, the concern market related to the company probably could be low at that moment which possibly result in less profits. If any of the aforementioned reasons holds good, then the prompts assertion could be severely weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the human resources are able to defend the three assumptions mentioned above with more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet usage.