Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Speaker here states that government should invest in the arts as much as they do in the military. I support the speaker's statement, yet it's specifically narrow there is honesty in the appeal mentioned above. Many shallow-minded organizations or corresponding governments neglect the overall development of their own and concentrate on a few issues which they can vision some returns with. The point is not that all governments should invest in all fields equally but any government should foresee some consequences for their own activities, the scope of advancements in a few fields, the number of people pursuing that specific field, etc unless there is an emergency situation and investments required are crossing the buffer amount saved by the government.

The overall development of any organization leads to many optimistic and comfortable situations, on the other hand, prejudice towards a category of fields indeed results in vicious scenarios. On the top of my head, a country named Pakistan, a few years back invested almost all of its economy into military, terrorism, etc. And at that point in time, more than 30 percent of their people were starving and had meager, there was no food available yet people were forced to pursue firing and terrorism, which in turn ate much of its population down the line. Otherwise, if they could have sent resources and let all children educate, by now Pakistan's average economy would be as good as other countries in its surroundings.

Long back in the 1900s, a country named India realized the value of sports, arts, etc, and started encouraging not only with money or resources but also with technical, and coaching facilities. But, not to be as one-sided, if the country is striving for survival which is also almost an emergency condition. The expenses will absolutely in the direction of achieving the control in the form of survival. Many developing countries or organizations fall under this category. Certainly, in any way, every part of the organization should work hard to reach survival along with minding the futuristic possibilities.

In sum, I undeniably concede with the speaker's palpable intention, yet I urge to request the speaker to myriad his/her thinking and vision. Until and unless there exists an emergency scenario, any government should consider its overall development, considering all factors mentioned prior. As many said potential in any entity is non-trivial if and only if it possesses an innovative and ingenious vision, else it will remain redundant.